Cleaning out unengaged or inactive profiles from your list improves a variety of aspects of the list's quality. This is critical for ensuring good deliverability. There are two key areas to cleaning up your list:

Making a list of unengaged contacts
Removing these inactive contacts

This article will teach you how to clean your list and have a better deliverability.

Why you should clean your list

Improve your email provider deliverability scores: Most major email service providers (such as Google and Yahoo) monitor how recipients interact with emails from your domain — how many are marked as spam, how many are opened, and so on. This information is used by ESPs to determine whether your emails are spam. Having a large number of unengaged people on your list undermines your efforts to reach those who do want to receive your emails.

Reduce unsubscribe rates and increase open and click rates: Since you remove all unengaged subscribers, your list will have only recipients who are willing to open and check your messages.

Personalize content for you customers: By having a list full of active, real, and interested prospects, you can personalize content for this audience to earn more revenue.

Retain and engage subscribers: Knowing when people begin to lose interest in your brand allows you to send targeted campaigns to re-engage them.

1. Make a segment of unengaged contacts

Create a segment that captures customers who receive your emails but do not open or click on them to identify your unengaged customers.



Let's look at the conditions used in this segment.

Email Status is subscribed:

This condition is for convenience. Someone unsubscribed or unconfirmed can still turn into subscribers. But you should absolutely remove subscribers that are no longer interested in opening your emails.

As a result, you can use this segment in the future to track how many new unengaged subscribers you have.

Opened and clicked on no email in the last 365 days:

Subscribers who have not opened or clicked on your emails in the last year are captured by these two conditions. You can find your least engaged customers by connecting these conditions with an AND connector. I recommend that you use 365 days as your timeframe.

If you believe that a 365-day timeframe is not the best window of time to gauge your customers' engagement, you can experiment with different timeframes to see what works best for you based on your customers' purchasing and engagement habits, as well as how frequently you send emails.

After you've created this unengaged segment, you can delete these contacts from your account.

2. Delete unengaged segment's contacts

If you want to permanently delete one or more contacts from your account, go to the unengaged segment you created and view contacts inside it.



Here, you will see the Delete button next to an account or you can select multiple account and choose Delete from a three dot menu. A popup will appear prompting you to confirm the delete process; if you want to carry on, click Delete this contact.

When you delete a contact, it will be completely removed from your account with no history kept. This is permanent, so make sure you want to delete a contact before doing, because this action can't be reversed.

Should you delete suppression list?

Suppression list in AVADA includes Bounces, Unsubscribes, Complaint and Invalid contacts. You may want to remove these contacts from your list.

First of all, AVADA save those contacts in Suppression list and does not allow you to send emails to them. Even after you remove them from AVADA, we still save the list behind and if they are imported again to AVADA, they still be suppressed ones.

Therefore, we recommend not to remove contacts in Suppression list. You can check them back to see how many contacts in bounce, marked spam, etc. Which will also help to indicate your sending performance.

However, suppression works as an auto feature in AVADA Marketing Automation, so you won't be able to manually suppress accounts. You can only unsubscribe or subscribe them manually.

Also:

Suppressed accounts still have all associated data in your account.
Suppressed accounts do not count against your monthly payment plan limits.
Accounts that have been suppressed can be un-suppressed if they re-engage (e.g., signing up to your newsletter)
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!